Skip to content

Let the vacation begin!

December 15, 2010

So it’s officially over. I did pass my Comprehensive exam, and in just one month I’ll receive my Master’s diploma. But prior to that I decided that I deserve a good vacation before throwing myself into the real world of corporate America. In the next four weeks I’ll literally go around the world, visiting four different continents. I’m planning on enjoying savory Uruguayan and Argentinian steaks and delicious red wine from the finest vineyards of South America. I’ll then come back to Boston just to catch my flight to Russia where I’ll be celebrating New Year’s Eve in Russian style, which means a lot of vodka, banya, food and snow.

I will then proceed to Thailand, the country I’ve been dreaming to visit for so long. My dad organized the perfect graduation present for me, knowing exactly what I would want to devote myself to during my vacation–scuba-diving! And I even ordered a hand-made Maori talisman that was successfully targeted to me by Facebook ads. According to the legend, it is supposed to protect sailors in the sea, so I thought it might as well protect scuba-divers, especially in light of recent fatal accidents in the Red Sea involving tourists and sharks.

So today I took my last exam with Professor Quigley, thanks to whom I launched this blog, hectically packed my suitcase and headed off to the airport, where I surprisingly found out that my visa to Uruguay was not valid because the Consulate made a typo in the expiration date. I couldn’t believe it! Consulates just cannot make those kinds of mistakes–I worked in this area, I know. But what I would recommend for American Airlines is to hire more Spanish speaking personnel who are also more willing to help their customers. The AA associate told me I cannot board the plane because my visa was supposedly not valid but she was ready to book me on a flight to NYC so that I could get another visa there. The situation was just ridiculous!

Thank God I speak Spanish so after I reviewed my visa myself, I realized there was no typo. The date she thought was the expiration date was actually the date the visa was authorized and then issued on a different date. I know it all sounds confusing but imagine my frustration when the AA representative and her manager (who actually spoke Spanish) were assuring me that there was no way I could get on that flight. After I repeatedly explained to them that the visa was valid and no typo was involved, and showed them my visa from last year which had a similar format, AA agreed to check me in. Hallelujah!

I’m now impatiently waiting to board the plane from Miami international airport. Let the vacation begin! I’ll be back soon.

From → Travel

3 Comments
  1. Have a WONDERFUL vacation! And congrats on being Anya, Master of Science!

  2. Thank you! Congratulations to you too=) Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  3. Congratulations! Have a wonderful world trip!

Leave a Reply

